The Awards Committee administers the following awards:

  • Student Awards for Excellence in Theatre – NYSTEA members may nominate one or two students to receive recognition for their talent and dedication to theatre.
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award – NYSTEA members may honor an adult volunteer whose efforts have made a significant contribution to the success of a local theatre program.
  • The Rod Marriott Award, our highest means of recognition, is presented for lifetime achievement in educational theatre. Potential candidates are presented to the board and are voted on at the annual retreat. The NYSTEA president then notifies the winner.

Past winners include:

1991Coral Crosman
1992Nellie McCaslin
1993Milton Polsky
1994Charles J Trupia
1995Bob Smythe
1996Sir Mortimer Clark
1997Rosemary Evaul
1998Hazel Goldstein
2000Sally Zweibach
2001Gail Nelli
2002Dale Zurbrick
2003Sally Anne Milgrim
2004Janet Susin
2005Judi Bendewki
2006Judi Paseltiner
2007John Shorter
2008Sylvia Ramsdell
2009John Fredricksen
2010Roger Paolini
2011Jim Hoare
2012Joe Minutillo
2013Kate Olena
2014Maureen Natali
2015Mary & Michael Krickmire
2016Flori C Doyle
2017Kristie Fuller
Ruthie Pincus
2019 Holly Adams